When it comes to condiments, our motto is : “separate but equal” - especially if not everyone in your family is following a gluten free diet. Because crumb contamination happens so easily, and is near impossible to undo, it’s best not to risk it.
Keep two of each condiment you use. Clearly label one “Gluten Free Only” to use exclusively with gluten free products. That way, any gluten crumbs will end up in the other container, and you’ll remain blissfully un-glutened!
Squeeze bottles are also a great option for keeping gluten-y crumbs out of your condiments. Jelly, catsup, mustard and mayo can all be found in a squeeze bottle version.
We also collect individual packets of catsup, butter, salad dressings and other condiments available at restaurants. They are great to have on hand when you’re traveling, or eating at a non-gluten free home.
In addition to the basic condiments, remember to have separate containers for the following: nut butters, jelly, cream cheese, butter/margarine, relish, and anything else you may use with both gluten and gluten free items.
As with all foods, check your condiments’ ingredients lists carefully. When in doubt, call the company or check the manufacturer’s website.