Gluten free refers to foods that do not contain gluten.
Gluten is contained in wheat, barley and rye. For more, see What is Gluten?
Whole Foods that are Gluten Free
Fruits and vegetables
Unprocessed sea food
Grains: amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn bran, corn starch, flax, legume flours, mesquite, millet, montina, nut flours, quinoa, soy flour, sorghum, tapioca, and teff
Processed Foods that May or May Not Be Gluten Free (carefully check ingredients – not always labeled gluten free)
Deli meat, hot dogs, self-basting turkey, sausage, tuna with added flavors
Frozen foods: ice cream, potatoes/fries, vegetables with sauce, veggie burgers
Broth, bullion cubes, chili, creamed corn, pasta sauce, pickles, pie filling, soup, rice mixes
Dip, processed cheese, shredded cheese, yogurt
Seasoning: bbq sauce, gravy mix, italian seasoning, marinade, meat tenderizer, seasoned salt, soup mix, catsup, hot sauce, mustard, salad dressing, soy sauce, steak sauce, sweet and sour sauce, teriyaki sauce
Foods that Must Be Labeled Gluten Free
Baked goods: bagels, bread, doughnut, cake, croutons, muffins, pie, tortillas
Breaded products (such as chicken or fish)
Snacks: cookies, crackers, granola bars, pretzels
Not everybody has a problem with gluten. But enough of us are that the food industry has begun to sit up and take notice. Over the past decade, the number and availability of gluten free products has sky rocketed, making going gluten free a very do-able choice.